Department of Political Science

Ph.D. in Public Administration and Public Policy

The joint doctoral program in Public Administration and Public Policy is a collaboration of Auburn University and Auburn University at Montgomery (the two campuses are just 50 miles apart). Auburn University, located in a fast developing college town, is the land-grand academic institution of Alabama.  Auburn University at Montgomery is located in the Montgomery area, which serves as the capital city of the state of Alabama. Together, Auburn University and Auburn University at Montgomery serve the state of Alabama and neighboring areas in the Southeast.

In times demanding change, the Auburn University/Auburn University at Montgomery doctoral program prepares students to become a vital part of both academia and government. The faculty at both campuses share their knowledge and expertise transforming students into confident scholars, researchers, and policy leaders.

The information on this website covers a wide range of topics for prospective and current students, and we hope you can find the information you need. The PhD Program Handbook is a comprehensive and detailed source of information about our program. For additional information related to the Doctoral program (e.g. specific courses, individualized questions, or plans of study, etc) feel free to contact program director, Dr. Mitchell Brown at (334) 844-6170, or email her at For information regarding admissions or administrative matters (e.g. application materials and status, class registration) please contact Ms. Janine Barnes at (334) 844-5327 or email her at

Mitchell BrownPh.D. Program Director
Mitchell Brown
Associate Professor and Ph.D. Program Director
Department of Political Science
Haley Center 7012
Auburn University
Auburn, AL 36849
(334) 844-6170

Questions about this page.

Last Updated: January 12, 2017