Department of Political Science

CLA announces four 2020 Faculty Award winners

Published on Oct 22, 2020

Auburn University will recognize a group of outstanding faculty members and their contributions to the institution’s instruction, research and outreach mission at the university’s annual Faculty Awards on Nov. 18, four of which are from the College of Liberal Arts (CLA). 

“Auburn faculty bring an exceptional level of dedication and innovation to their roles each day, resulting in a positive impact on our students and the continued advancement of our mission,” said Provost Bill Hardgrave. “I look forward to recognizing these remarkable individuals who have excelled in their teaching, research and outreach despite the extraordinary circumstances created by the pandemic.”

The awards are typically presented each fall during the Faculty Awards Ceremony. However, due to COVID-19 restrictions and health and safety concerns, the annual event will include a limited ceremony for recipients next month.

Below is the CLA list of faculty (and departmental) award winners from the 2019-2020 academic year:

Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award
The Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award recognizes the outstanding teaching of undergraduates from nominations made by department heads, deans, alumni and students. A committee of retired faculty members selects the recipients.

James Birdsong, lecturer and program coordinator, Department of Aviation, College of Liberal Arts

Departmental Award for Excellence in Education
Created in 2013, the Departmental Award for Excellence in Education recognizes the efforts of departmental faculty members for their commitment to improving education at both the undergraduate and graduate level. The Biggio Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning and the University Senate Teaching Effectiveness Committee administer this award on behalf of the Office of the Provost.

Department of Art and Art History, College of Liberal Arts

Creative Research and Scholarship Award
The Creative Research and Scholarship Award recognizes faculty members who have distinguished themselves through research, scholarly works and creative contributions. This award recognizes two categories: sciences, medical sciences, engineering and agriculture; and fine arts, liberal arts, architecture and design, business and social and human sciences.

Kenneth W. Noe, Draughon Professor of Southern History, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts

Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach
The Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach honors the engagement of exemplary faculty members and demonstrates the tremendous impact Outreach has on our community, state, nation and beyond.

Steven Brown, professor, Department of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

More information about the awards, including a complete list of all winners, is available here:

Auburn University is a nationally ranked land grant institution recognized for its commitment to world-class scholarship, interdisciplinary research with an elite, top-tier Carnegie R1 classification, life-changing outreach with Carnegie’s Community Engagement designation and an undergraduate education experience second to none. Auburn is home to more than 30,000 students, and its faculty and research partners collaborate to develop and deliver meaningful scholarship, science and technology-based advancements that meet pressing regional, national and global needs. Auburn’s commitment to active student engagement, professional success and public/private partnership drives a growing reputation for outreach and extension that delivers broad economic, health and societal impact.