Skip to main content

CLA presents 2022 faculty and staff awards

Auburn University College of Liberal Arts Logo

The College of Liberal Arts announces its 2022 faculty and staff award recipients.

This year’s Promotion of Excellence in Teaching and Learning (PETL) award recipients include:


Teaching Excellence Award

Joseph Bardeen, Associate Professor, Department of Psychological Sciences

Tessa Carr, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance

Community and Civic Engagement Award

Gheni Platenburg, Assistant Professor, School of Communication and Journalism

Outstanding Lecturer Award

Katherine Arpen, Lecturer, Department of Art and Art History

Terri Knight, Senior Lecturer, School of Communication and Journalism

Outstanding Instructor Award

Matthew Newport, Instructor, School of Communication and Journalism

Outstanding GTA Teaching Award

Kendall Parks, GTA, Department of Political Science

Outstanding Advising Award

Letitia Gulley-Smith, Advisor, Student Services


Noah Breuer, an assistant professor in the Department of Art and Art History, received a Summer Competitive Research Grant.

Tom Springer, administrative support assistant for the Department of Music, received the Staff Employee of the Year award, and Sean Henderson, director of web strategy and development for the CLA Office of Communication and Marketing, received the A&P Employee of the Year award.

“Our faculty and staff go above and beyond each day to enrich our college, students and community,” Interim Dean Ana Franco-Watkins said. “It’s a privilege to be able to honor them and celebrate their dedication and hard work.”

Tags: Psychological Sciences Theatre and Dance Communication and Journalism Art and Art History Political Science Music

Media Contact

Charlotte Tuggle, Director
News and Media Services
CLA Office of Communications and Marketing

Related Articles