Awards and Fellowships

Click on individual awards below for application guidelines and details.

Annie White Mell American Independence Award

Awarded for the best original research paper in the field of American Colonial History.

Edna Floyd Booth Award
Assists graduate students with research and travel.
Graduate Colloquium Award
Awarded for best paper.
Malcolm C. McMillan Award
Awarded to an outstanding paper every other year.
Marguerite E. Scharnagel Fellowship
Awarded to students in the last phases of dissertation writing.
Melvin Kranzberg Award
Awarded to an outstanding paper on technology.
Milo B. Howard Research Award
Provides support to ABD graduate students conducting dissertation research.
Robert L. Partin Award
Awarded for department service.
Additional Past Award Recipients
Alumni Award: Awarded in honor of Donna Bohanan for best paper in European history.
Claire D. and Jane A. Heidler Memorial Award: Awarded in Early U.S. History.
Colonial Dames Award: Awarded in Colonial/Early US History.
Daniel Reese Farnell Jr. Fellowship: awarded for dissertation writing.
Robert D. Reid Memorial Fellowship: awarded in early U.S. history

Last Updated: April 09, 2015