Robert Hughes Mount, Jr., Poetry Prize

Published on March 21, 2013

Robert Hughes Mount, Jr., Poetry Prize

The Auburn University Department of English, in the College of Liberal Arts, is pleased to announce its annual Robert Hughes Mount, Jr., Poetry Prize, sponsored by the Academy of American Poets, and endowed by Frances Mayes, offering a $100 award, a one-year membership in the Academy of American Poets, and a copy of the judge’s collection of poems for the Auburn University student submitting the best poem. One honorable mention will also receive a copy of the judge’s collection of poems.

Graduate or undergraduate students may submit up to three poems to Professor Keetje Kuipers of the English Department. All poems must be submitted electronically—see below for details. The contest deadline is April 15, 2013.

Submission Guidelines:

· Include a cover sheet with your name and contact information, including your AU   email address.

· Include up to three poems.

·All poems must be submitted electronically for consideration. They should be sent from your AU email address as a single Word document attachment (including cover sheet and three poems as above) to

The prizewinner will be announced no later than May 15, 2013. Questions about Auburn's contest should be directed to the Poetry Prize Coordinator, Keetje Kuipers, at

The judge of this year’s contest is poet Jennifer Elise Foerster. Foerster has an MFA in writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts, a BFA from the Institute of American Indian Arts, and she was Wallace Stegner Fellow in Poetry at Stanford University. Widely published in journals and anthologies, Foerster is of German, Dutch, and Muscogee descent and a member of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma. Her first book, Leaving Tulsa, is now available from the University of Arizona Press.

The Academy of American Poets University & College Poetry Prize Program was founded in 1955 with only ten schools, but now awards over 200 prizes across the country, and has awarded more than $350,000 to nearly 10,000 student poets since the program was established.  Many prominent American poets won their first recognition with an Academy College Prize, including Diane Ackerman, Mark Doty, Tess Gallagher, Louise Glück, Kimiko Hahn, Joy Harjo, Robert Hass, Li-Young Lee, Heather McHugh, J. D. McClatchy, William Matthews, Robert Pinsky, Sylvia Plath, Mary Jo Salter, George Starbuck, Mark Strand, and Charles Wright.

Prizes are funded by alumni interested in encouraging young writers, by the colleges and universities themselves, or through the gifts of donors to the Academy. Two-thirds of the prizes are now, like Auburn's, supported by permanent endowments. The Academy of American Poets is the largest organization in the country dedicated specifically to poetry. The academy sponsors a broad range of national programs, including the prestigious Whitman, Laughlin, and Marshall Awards, as well as National Poetry Month in April, an annual celebration of the vitality and richness of American poetry. For more information visit, the Academy's lively and comprehensive website.